Home > Shopping, Thrifting > Thrifting Adventure: Pennsylvania

Thrifting Adventure: Pennsylvania

(My card reader for my DSLR was acting up last night so I had to use a regular camera to take these photos. These pictures do NOT give these items any justice but I wanted to share my great finds.)

My boyfriend and I spent our weekend in Pennsylvania to enjoy Halloween with his family and friends. Every time I go, I’m always looking forward to doing something new and this time around, thrifting was a must. I went to two Salvation Army in Scranton and in Eyon and found a good amount of amazing items.

At the Scranton location, these are the items I got:

Eddie Bauer blue button down
($4.99) I’ve been inspired by a few pictures on Pinterest to find a light blue button down shirt. This one was exactly what I was looking for and to top it off, it’s extremely soft!

Carole Little cashmere sweater
($4.99) My boyfriend found this and insisted that I get it. I really like how bright it is and I can definitely see myself rocking it sometime in the early spring. Thanks for the great find bf!

At the Eyon location, these are the items I got:

Mardane purse
($3.99) I went straight to the purse section and found this clutch. The cool thing about it is that inside there is an attachment that includes a mirror for when I need to reapply my makeup! I was sold once I saw that.

Joan Leslie blazer
($3.50) The last time I wore the color red was in high school 7 years ago.  I can’t explain why I stopped wearing it but I decided that I needed to welcome the color back into my closet. I’ve been completely inspired by the recent trends of colored blazer and the color red, so this piece works very well. I know I’m going to save this for a girls night out.

Studio I tweed blazer
($4.99) People Style Watch magazine is one of my many resources on how I stay connected on the latest trends,  inspirations, and styling ideas. In the November issue, there was a section on 3 Key Investment Pieces and one of them was a Tweed Jacket.

New York and Company skirt
($4.99) J of J’s Everyday Fashion totally inspired me for a really long time to hunt down for a white pencil skirt and I finally found the perfect one.


Worthington button down
($2.50) When I saw this I knew I had to get it! Besides the fact that it’s extra long which I can work around it, I absolutely love this shade of purple.

Josephine button down
(4.99) This is my 3rd top that has an invisible button down detail and I just love the smooth, clean look that this detail gives this shirt. I also don’t have this shade of color in my wardrobe so this was a must have.

Anne Klein II button down
(4.99) First off… this photo doesn’t give this shirt justice. It’s actually a VERY dark navy/ black. Another button down with the invisible button down detail. I love how soft this shirt feel and the button at the top is really cool.

525 America sweater
($3.99) The deep v neck on this sweater attracted me a lot plus the softness of the fabric

Gap sweater
($4.99) I needed a gray sweater and this one was perfect!

Cashmere Sweater
($4.99) Not sure on the label of this sweater but I love the quality of it. Can’t go wrong with cashmere either!

In both stores, I spent a total of $53.90, making it about $4.49 for each item. This was a great thrift shopping trip because if you look at it, I could have spent $54 at one store and only walk out with 1 complete outfit but I managed to get 12 different items that I can incorporate int0 my wardrobe and create numerous amounts of outfits. I totally think I’m winning here!

The month of October was a huge eye opener for me in regards to thrift shopping. I’ve been inspired by so many fashion bloggers online who thrift shop and saved so much money on fabulous items. It’s one of the main reasons why I have a blog today, to help me explore on my fashion style as a young adult. Personally, I think I’ve gone a little overboard on the shopping and spent a little bit more than I usually do. So I’ve decided that I will set myself on a budget of $50 a month and at the end of the month, I will share with you all on my great finds. This way I will continue to build on my wardrobe and also inspire you guys that thrift shopping is an awesome alternative way to shop (and save money).

Be Fashionable, Be Healthy, Be Happy,
Kiki

Categories: Shopping, Thrifting
  1. May 11, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    Excellent article! We are linking to this great content
    on our site. Keep up the great writing.

  2. June 2, 2013 at 12:25 pm

    It’s awesome in support of me to have a site, which is valuable designed for my knowledge. thanks admin

  3. June 7, 2013 at 4:09 am

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but I believed this post used to be good.

    I do not recognise who you are however definitely you’re going to a well-known blogger if you are not already. Cheers!

  4. July 10, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    Great article.

  5. July 20, 2013 at 8:31 pm

    s right diamond necklace, his soul mate, in case he’s not able to find a relationship he then will leave behind you. Perhaps your family might or may not set up a multi function romantic dinner gorgeous honeymoons too a number of everywhere on the he or she favorite place. The series concentrates on four guys – Kyle Broflovski, Stan Marsh, Kenny Mc – Cormick, and Eric Cartman.

  6. July 22, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been
    blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is
    fantastic, as well as the content!

  7. July 23, 2013 at 11:46 am

    I visited various web pages however the audio quality for audio songs
    current at this web page is truly excellent.

  8. July 25, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to give
    it a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Wonderful blog and amazing design and style.

  9. June 30, 2014 at 7:42 pm

    Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is excellent, as well as the content!

  10. July 26, 2014 at 2:01 pm

    When some one searches for his required thing, therefore he/she wants to be available that in detail, therefore
    that thing is maintained over here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

